Fraunhofer IWS Dresden - 25 years of dedication to the future


Preisübergabe an Prof. Andreas Leson (links) durch Prof. Carlo Misiano, Chairman des Symposiums (Mitte), und Prof. Angus Macleod (rechts)
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Prof. Carlo Misiano, chairman of the symposium (middle) and Prof. Angus Macleod (right) present the award to Prof. Andreas Leson (left)

Gemeinsam entwickelten sie wesentliche Komponenten für die EUV-Lithografie: Dr. Torsten Feigl, Dr. Stefan Braun und Dr. Klaus Bergmann (v.l.n.r.) mit einem Kollektorspiegel
© Photo Dirk Mahler / Fraunhofer

Jointly developed key components for EUV lithography: Dr. Torsten Feigl, Dr. Stefan Braun and Dr. Klaus Bergmann (from left to right) with a collector mirror

Dresdner Konferenz 'Zukunft Energie' 2011
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Dresden Conference "Energy in Future" 2011


  • AILU International Award - Prof. Dr. Eckhard Beyer received AILU International Award for his extraordinary achievements in the field of industrial laser materials processing
  • Green Photonics Award - Dresden research team with Prof. Andrés Lasagni and Sebastian Eckhardt received Green Photonics Award 2015


  • "A life for thin film" Award
  • Galileo Award Materials Testing
  • Completion of the fourth construction expansion of the Fraunhofer IWS and setting up of the Center for Resource-Saving Energy Technologies RESET
  • Completion of the third construction expansion of the Fraunhofer IWS Dresden for activities in the field of nanotechnology





Solarthermische Reaktionstechnik
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Solar thermal hydrogen production

Verleihung des Schawlow Award 2008 an Prof. Beyer
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Prof. Beyer receives the Schawlow Award 2008 at the annual meeting of LIA during the ICALEO 2008

Dr. Angela Merkel wünscht Prof. Beyer Erfolg beim Aufbau des deutsch-polnischen Forschungszentrums
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Dr. Angela Merkel wishes Prof. Beyer success for the establishment of the German-Polish research center




  • Professor Dr. Eckhard Beyer received the Arthur L. Schawlow Award, the most prestigious award in the area of laser technology.




Prinzip der Atmosphärendruck-Plasmatechnologie
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Principle of atmospheric pressure plasma technology

XXL-Laserstrahlschweißanlage zur 3D-Präzisionsbearbeitung von großformatigen Flugzeug-Rumpfstrukturen
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

XXL laser beam welding machine for 3D precise processing of large-scaled fuselage structures


First projects to apply atmospheric pressure PECVD technology in photovoltaics.


Expansion of the building to 8000m2;

1st International Workshop on Fiber Lasers.


First projects to laser weld fuselage structures for aircraft. Construction of the laser beam welding system for this task.


IWS researchers achieved a reflectance of 71% for EUV mirror, which represents a world record.


Prüfung von ultradünnen Schichten im Nanometerbereich mit Laserakustik (LAwave®)
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Testing of ultra thin films in the nanometer area with laser acoustic (LAwave®)

Röntgenspiegel mit Nanometerschichten
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

X-ray optics with nanometer layers


IWS scientists received the Fraunhofer Award for the laser acoustic LAwave® technique for the analysis of nanometer thin films.


Signing of the cooperation agreement between ThyssenKrupp Steel AG (TKS) and the Fraunhofer Institutes IWS and IST. Establishment of the Surface Technology Center Dortmund (DOC) presenting a new form of the “Public/Private Partnership”.

1st Diode Laser Workshop


Under the leadership of Dr. Andreas Leson the Fraunhofer IWS Dresden began to coordinate the Nano Competence Center for Ultrathin Films, a federally recognized competence center initiated by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

A first application using remote laser beam welding was commercialized.

The IWS received the Fraunhofer Award for a PLD process to manufacture X-ray mirrors.


Appointment of Professor Dr. Eckhard Beyer as IWS institute director and full professor for surface and coating technology at the Technical University Dresden; Renaming of the IWS in Fraunhofer Institute for Materials and Beam Technology; 

Inauguration of the Fraunhofer Institute Center Dresden at Winterbergstrasse.

Professor Bernd Brenner received the Joseph-von-Fraunhofer Award for the successful development and industrial implementation of a laser induction welding process; by 2008 13 systems using this technology are installed in manufacturing. 

Certification according to DIN ISO 9001.


Move into a new 5000m2 building at Winterbergstrasse.


Fraunhofer Center for Laser Applications (CLA) in Plymouth, Michigan / USA
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Fraunhofer Center for Laser Applications (CLA) in Plymouth, Michigan / USA

Gebäude des Fraunhofer IWS Dresden (mit Cafeteria)
© Photo Fraunhofer IWS Dresden

Building of Fraunhofer IWS Dresden (with cafeteria)


Establishment of the Fraunhofer Center for Surface and Laser Processing (CSLP), which is today the Fraunhofer Center for Coatings and Laser Applications (CCL) as a satellite operation of the IWS in the USA.


Revocation of the time limitation as a Fraunhofer institution and continuation as a fully established Fraunhofer institute.


The Fraunhofer Society and the TU Dresden sign a framework agreement on cooperation.


Under the leadership of Dr. Wolfgang Reitzenstein the newly formed independent Fraunhofer institution begins operation in the areas “laser thin film technologies” and “laser materials processing”; 

Decision of the Fraunhofer Society to build a new center for institutes in Dresden.


The senate of the Fraunhofer Society decided to take over the IWS as an initially time-limited independent Fraunhofer institution.


The Institute for Materials Physics and Coating Technology (IWS) is spun off from the Central Institute for Solid State Physics and Materials Research (ZFW). It is proposed to absorb the new institute into the Fraunhofer Society.