Fraunhofer IWS

Scientists of the Fraunhofer IWS have been presented with several awards for their excellent scientific research.

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize

2012, 2006, 2000, 1998, 1997


Performance boost for microchips - next-generation lithography with EUV radiation


Hardening of the surface near region through localized nanoscale precipitation


Laser acoustic process for measuring nanometer-thin films (LAwave®)


PLD process for the manufacture of x-ray mirrors


Laser induction for crack-free welding

Arthur L. Schawlow Award


Laser technology

On October 22nd 2008 the Laser Institute of America (LIA) presented Professor Eckhard Beyer with the Arthur L. Schawlow award. The award is named after the Nobel Prize laureate and is the most prestigious recognition in the field of laser technology. The Schawlow award recognizes the accomplishments of individuals who provided extraordinary contributions to the field of laser applications in science, industry and education.

German High Tech Champions (GHTC) Award


Lightweight Design

Annett Klotzbach and her team are to be awarded with the German High Tech Champion prize in “Lightweight Design” for their research in the field of Remote laser cutting of fiber composite materials.

The GHTC® Award will go to six outstanding German technology developers from German universities and research institutions. The Fraunhofer IWS is being honored with this prize for the second time. The GHTC® includes an award of 10,000 euros and will be presented at the 2nd Fraunhofer Symposium “Green Technology made in Germany - Lightweight Design” in Tokyo on November 18, 2013.

German High Tech Champions (GHTC) Award



Dr. Andrés F. Lasagni, Dr. Lars Müller-Messkamp and their team will receive the award German High Tech Champion in the field Solar/PV for his Business Case: Rapid Fabrication of Nano-Structures for highly efficient Photovoltaics.



Honour for IWS scientist Dr. Matthias Lütke - WLT award for his outstanding achievements in the field of laser technology

Dr. Matthias Lütke from the Fraunhofer IWS Dresden received the annual prize of the Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft für Lasertechnik e. V. (WLT - German Scientific Laser Society). He was honoured for the development of a Remote laser cutting technique, a procedure, which caused a world-wide appreciation and sensation.



Fraunhofer-Medaille for outstanding benefits for the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

Eckhard Beyer, executive director of the Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS has been awarded with the Fraunhofer-Medaille. Hans-Jörg Bullinger, the president of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, presented the prize within the framework of the 20 th anniversary of Fraunhofer at Dresden.

Masing Memorial Prize (DGM)


Prof. Dr. A. Lasagni is awarded the Masing Memorial Prize of the DGM (German Association of Materials Science)

Prof. Lasagni is honored with the Masing Memorial Prize for his successful research into the industrial applications of laser technology. He is a professor in the field of industrial engineering at the Technische Universität Dresden and heads the research group “Surface Functionalization” at the Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahltechnik IWS Dresden. The prize was presented in Bochum at the DGM-general meeting on May 23, 2013.

ALCOA Russia Prize


Laser welding of aerospace structures

At the second international conference and exhibition “Aluminum 2D Welding And Brazing” in Moscow, Dr. Jens Standfuß and Dr. Dirk Dittrich received the prize, sponsored by ALCOA Russia, for their contribution on laser welding of aerospace structures.

Dorothy Hegarty Award


Biosystems engineering - Development of a multi-organ-chip platform

In 2013 the Dorothy Hegarty Award 2012 was bestowed upon Dr. Frank Sonntag (staff member of the microstructuring research group at Fraunhofer IWS), Dr. Udo Klotzbach (head of the same group) as well as a team of biologists and physicians. The award acknowledges the teams work in the field of biosystems technologies, which aims at reducing or even avoiding the need for animal testing. The Dorothy Hegarty Award is annually issued by the international peer reviewed science journal “Alternatives to Laboratory Animals (ATLA)”.

Social Bookmarks